The Winners of the 2019 UK Americana Awards Have Been Revealed


Last night, our friends at the Americana Music Association UK (AMA-UK) held their fourth annual UK Americana Awards in London, which wrapped up three incredible days of AmericanaFest UK 2019.

Hosted by Bob Harris OBE, the sold-out ceremony welcomed performers like Jade Bird, Curse of LonoRhiannon Giddens, Chris HillmanSeth LakemanGraham Nash and YOLA. These show-stopping numbers were backed by a house band led by Ethan Johns.

Here are the winners for the annually presented "Of the Year" awards, which were voted on by the AMA-UK membership.


UK Album of the Year

Shorebound by Ben Glover (produced by Neilson Hubbard and Ben Glover)

International Album of the Year

May Your Kindness Remain by Courtney Marie Andrews (produced by Mark Howard and Courtney Marie Andrews)

UK Song of the Year

"Southern Wind" by Dean Owens (written by Dean Owens and Will Kimbrough) 

International Song of the Year

"The Joke" by Brandi Carlile (written by Brandi Carlile, Dave Cobb, Phil Hanseroth and Tim Hanseroth)

UK Artist of the Year

Bennett Wilson Poole

International Artist of the Year

Mary Gauthier

UK Instrumentalist of the Year 

CJ Hillman




The following honorees received their awards on stage at the beautiful Hackney Empire.

Lifetime Achievement Award
Graham Nash

Trailblazer Award
Joe Boyd

Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award
Curse of Lono

Grass Roots Award
Immy Doman and Risa Tabatznik of The Green Note

Congratulations to all of the evening's winners, honorees and nominees!




What else happened during AmericanaFest UK?

Earlier in the week, The Americana Music Association UK took over five venues in the London Borough of Hackney to showcase over 50 artists representing the wide spectrum of Americana music.

The week also saw AMA-UK members attending conferences and panels from industry speakers and artists including Deacon Blue’s Ricky Ross (in conversation with Fiona Bevan), Rhiannon Giddens (who delivered this year's keynote speech) and John Oates (in conversation with Bob Harris).

For more information on this year's event and the AMA-UK, please click here.

News Archive

Rascal Flatts to retire after 20 years with a final tour this year (08/01/2020)
Carrie Underwood Won’t Return As ‘CMA Awards’ Host In 2020 (02/01/2020)
CMR Nashville wishes you all a Happy New Year (31/12/2019)
CMR Nashville Christmas Schedule 48 Hours of non-stop Christmas programming (21/12/2019)
C2C 13 - 15 MARCH 2020! Hosted by Bob Harris OBE SPOTLIGHT STAGE ARTISTS ANNOUNCED (04/12/2019)
American Music Awards: Taylor Swift, Billie Eilish, Halsey, BTS Dominate (26/11/2019)
WARD THOMAS Add Extra London date to Intimate ‘Unfiltered’ Tour Play Union Chapel 4th and 7th May Album ‘Restless Minds’ Out Now (26/11/2019)
Frank Turner, Jade Bird and Yola among nominees at the 2020 UK Americana Awards (09/11/2019)


Older News Items